Malaysian Girls – Musical (10th-30th Dec, KL | 10 – 15 Jan, Pg)


The year’s most glamorous musical is set to explode on the KL stage. Product of an an award-winning team led by esteemed director Joe Hasham OAM along with producer and theatre doyenne Dato’ Faridah Merican, MALAYSIAN GIRLS will premiere at klpac followed by a tour to Penang.

MALAYSIAN GIRLS lures you into the exciting world of a beauty pageant. The heady mix of glamour and talent is enticing in itself. Throw in the drama that unfolds when there is such a coveted title to be won and such differing notions of beauty together with Mark Beau de Silva’s humorous writing, you are in for an absolute treat.

The musical pits two camps against each other. On one side you have Serenity Billion – the person who started the Malaysian Girls pageant to seek and define a uniquely Malaysian ideal of beauty. On the other side you have the flashy Ray Sanjay and the go-getting Jasmin Hibiscus who have bigger and bolder ideas. Just how ugly can it get?

MALAYSIAN GIRLS is a show in every sense from its catchy songs and explosive dance moves to the glitzy costumes and high energy performance. The music is a bold fusion of iconic, chart-topping hits and equally captivating numbers composed by singer-songwriters specially for this production.

Come and experience the glitzy world of a beauty pageant told in song, dance and drama on six-inch heels!

Share the gossip with us on
Twitter and Facebook

Watch the trailer!

KL / World Premiere

Presented by The Kuala Lumpur Performing Arts Centre & Celcom

Date & Time:

3.00pm 5.00pm 8.30pm
10 Dec, Sat o
11 Dec, Sun o
12 Dec, Mon No Show
13 Dec, Tue o
14 Dec, Wed Private Show
15 Dec, Thu o
16 Dec, Fri o
17 Dec, Sat o
18 Dec, Sun o
19 Dec, Mon No Show
20 Dec, Tue o
21 Dec, Wed o
22 Dec, Thu o
23 Dec, Fri o
24 Dec, Sat No Show
25 Dec, Sun o
26 Dec, Mon o
27 Dec, Tue o
28 Dec, Wed o
29 Dec, Thu
30 Dec, Fri o

Venue:
Pentas 1, The Kuala Lumpur Performing Arts Centre

Tickets:
Weekend prices (Friday – Sunday)
Adult: RM110 / 90 / 70 / 50;
Concession* RM88 / 72 / 56 / 40

Weekday prices (Tuesday – Thursday)
Adult: RM100 / 80 / 60 / 40
Concession * RM80 / 64 / 48 / 32
* Eligible for students, disabled, senior citizens, TAS card holders & UNHCR card holders

Penang Tour

Date & Time
10 January 2012 @ 8.30pm (preview);
11 – 14 January @ 8.30pm, 15 January 2012 @ 3pm

Venue
stage 1, penangpac
3H-3A-1, Straits Quay, Jalan Seri Tanjung Pinang
Tanjung Tokong, 10470 Pulau Pinang.

Ticket Price
RM30 flat (preview); RM60 / RM40 / RM30*
* Eligible for students, disabled, senior citizens, TAS cardholders & UNHCR cardholders
(Launch date for ticket sales: 1 December 2011)

====

The Team

Presented by The Kuala Lumpur Performing Arts Centre & Celcom
Original concept and directed by Joe Hasham OAM
Written by Mark Beau De Silva with added material by Cast & Creative Team.
Original songs & music by Ariff Akhir, Ian Chow, Min’z, Khairil M Bahar, Wani Ardy

Executive Producer Dato’ Faridah Merican
Co-Directed by Kimmy Kiew
Musical Director Mervyn Peters
Music Arrangers Ariff Akhir, Loh Ui Li
Choreographer Lex Lakshman Balakrishnan
Set Designer Melissa Teoh
Costume Designer Dominique Devorsine
Lighting Designer Tan Eng Heng
Sound Engineer John Siew
Stage Craft Christopher Ling
Improvisation Facilitator Kelvin Wong

Featuring: Tabitha Kong, Siti Farrah Abdullah, Aanantha, Zoe Taylor, Anrie Too, Amanda Ang, Sandee Chew, BB Ostella Adam, Alexis Wong, Amelia Chen, Karynn Tan, Shiva Shobitha , Pooja Jugal Kishor, Aliaa Sharif, Aminda Faradilla, with Freddy Tan and Alvin Looi.
====
Click here for press release

Reviews

http://www.venusbuzz.com/archives/2078/girl-power-glitz-and-glamour-at-malaysian-girls/

http://dustyhawk.net/personal/malaysian-girls/

http://stagekl.com/blog/malaysian-girls-the-musical-review/

http://goreng.my/chill/article/sequin-laden-girly-romp?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=facebook

Buy Ticket